Here is Millar Street at Glassford. We came across this by accident en-route to Strathaven. This is how the family name used to be spelled.
This is Strathaven Castle which sits right close to the town centre.
This is the centre of Strathaven. A prosperous little town where we had some coffee at the Tudor Tea Rooms.
Our first stop was West Dykes Farm, where we met Mrs Stewart, a very friendly and helpful lady who directed us to the nearby Burnfoot Farm.
James Stewart > farms and fisheries in East Kilbride area
West Dykes Fm, Strathaven, Lanarkshire, ML10 6RH
Curling Stone at West Dykes.
This is the remains of Burnfoot Farm where William Miller and Jean Cochrane lived when Alexander Miller II was born in 1797. It was occupied until the 1980s but is now a ruin, albeit with a family of owls nesting in a section of the building.
Some interesting flowers at Burnfoot: Turk's Cap Lily
View across the valley. Very green and pleasant.
This is Drumclog Church which has connections with the Covenanters movement. Nearby was fought the Battle of Drumclog.
At lunchtime we enjoyed a picnic in sight of Loudon Hill which has many historical connections, including the sites of at least two battles. Apparently, the Romans had a fort there but it was destroyed during quarrying activities.
View of Loudon Kirk and graveyard. Millers and Parkers are believed to be buried here.
Return to cruise ship at end of tour and fond farewells.
All pictures courtesy of Simon Bassatt
No comments:
Post a Comment